Favorite Apps: Evernote

One of my favorite apps and one I access everyday is Evernote. Ever since I started back to school almost twenty year ago I’ve been looking for a way to replace paper notes with electronic ones. I’ve started out using Hypercard and used NoteTaker throughout grad school. I still use NoteTaker for my academic note taking but several years ago I started using Evernote for everything else.

Evernote uses a notebook with pages metaphor that I find quite comfortable. Notes can include text, images, web clippings (either whole pages or portions), PDFs, files, audio clips, and much more. It includes tags and has a robust search function that can find text not only in your notes but also in images. There are versions for Macs, PC, iPhone/iPad/iPod, Android, Blackberry and even Palm. There is also a web version. It’s sync feature keeps files on all your devices in sync “automagically” as Steve Jobs used to say. On the web and desktop versions you can link any note to any other note or to some other application. I often link reference material in Evernote to my To Dos in Toodledo. You can also email notes to the app using a special address. There are codes for assigning emailed notes directly to a specific notebook, and adding tags.

Notebooks can be arranged into stacks or related notebooks and individual notebooks can be shared with other Evernote users or with the world. You can also set up a completely private notebook that isn’t synced across devices.

You can connect your Evernote account to Facebook, Twitter, GMail and other popular social networks. The editing features, while not a full-functioned as a word processing app, are pretty good and getting better. The Evernote team has done a wonderful job of getting other companies and programmers to develop hardware and software that works with their product. These are highlighted in the Trunk. If I had found Evernote and their Trunk partners before I’d gotten all my To Dos set up in Toodledo I might have used them instead.

You can set the font type and size, format text (bold, italic, etc.), add numbered or bulleted lists. Although it’s not currently possible to encrypt an entire note you can encrypt portions. So if you want to include your social security or bank account number in a note you can encrypt just that information–or you could select the entire note and encrypt it that way.

There are many more features and the development team is constantly updating the different versions. Because there appears to be a separate design team for each device, sometimes there are features available in one version but not the others but over time each versions catches up.

The free version allows you to upload 60 MB per month with no absolute file limit. There is also a premium version that has some additional features, a higher per month upload limit and better/faster support. You can buy the premium version on a month0-to-month or yearly basis. This means if you have a lot to upload you can upgrade for a month, do you work, then return to the free version.

I use this app everyday and am constantly finding more and better ways to use it. The price is right and I highly recommend it!

Have you used Evernote or a similar product? Let us know your experience in the comments.

3 thoughts on “Favorite Apps: Evernote

  1. Pingback: 10 Must-Have Evernote Add-Ons from BYTE | DrMaryAnn's Academy

  2. wiz khalifa quotes

    Pretty nice post. I simply stumbled upon your weblog
    and wanted to say that I’ve really loved browsing your weblog posts.
    In any case I’ll be subscribing for your feed and I’m hoping you write
    once more soon!

    Reply
  3. wiz khalifa quotes

    Howdy I am so thrilled I found your blog, I really
    found you by error, while I was researching on Digg
    for something else, Anyhow I am here now and would just like to say thank you for
    a tremendous post and a all round thrilling blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to go through it all at the minute but I have book-marked
    it and also included your RSS feeds, so when I have time I
    will be back to read much more, Please do keep up the fantastic b.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

